Brix Calculation

M

mark ray

Hello A-List
I have a question about how to calculate brix or percent of sugar content. We are using a micro motion coriolis mass flow meter that is only measuring flow for now. I want to use the density signal to calculate brix. Is there a way I can do this in the program. The signals are input to a PLC5-40.
Thanks
Mark Ray

A

artb-bcs/swt

Brix, or Balling is the % by weight of sugar in the water.
It is usually measured by using a floating saccrometer similar to a specific
gravity battery tester which really measures specific gravity.
A specific gravity to Balling scale can be found in Wagner, "Grapes to
Wine," Pg 149, Borozi Books. If you want a copy of the page, send me your fax#, or mailing address.

Regards,
Art Bourdeau
Web: www.bcsco.com
Phone: 518-765-3667
Fax: 518-765-4033
Mobil: 518-573-4745

F

Frank Mitchell

Mark,

I'm no expert but... Some key elements to consider are: Is the substance just water and sugar?? Degree Brix is the percentage of sucrose assuming all the solids to be sucrose. Baume is usually used as a measure of total solids concentration and is directly related to specific gravity. Brix is a measure of the sweetening effect of just sucrose. If this is dairy related further help in other areas can be found at: http://home.earthlink.net/~femitchell

regards,

frank

J
The question is if the software supports the conversion. If you choose a dedicated density transmitter then you should find the brix calculations are a standard option in the software since sugar brix and brix measurements in soft drinks etc are standard applications for these instruments. You might also want to investigate refractive index.
For dedicated density you have a choice of nucleonic devices or vibrational, both are used in the sugar industry and have been for many years.