Digital and Analog I/O - basic info

D

Daniel Johnson

I am not a control engineer. Due to the workload, I need to know the application difference between digital I/O versus analog I/O and advantage and disadvantage in between. Can someone tell me the answer?

B
Very simply... digital signals are either ON (binary 1) or OFF (binary 0). Digital input signals are used to represent items that only have two (2) states, such as... ON or OFF states ALARM or NORMAL conditions Similarily, Digital output signals are used to control items that again only have two states, such as.. START or STOP a device turn an indicator ON or OFF Analog signals are variable, they have multiple states. Analog input signals can represent such items as temperature or level or rate of flow. Analog output signals are also variable and can be used for such things as opening a valve to a desired position. So, use digitals for 2 state devices and analogs for multiple state devices.

H

Hakan Ozevin